Why I’m So Quiet These Days

Hi everyone! 🙂

I’ve been a bit on the silent side the last few weeks, both on social media and with any non-work related emails. It started out as a writer break (the first I’ve taken in over a year) to give my brain a rest. From there, the avalanche of life decided to take some hard left turns. Normally at such junctions, I go outside and enjoy the sunshine, work in my garden, do some active exploration to get my head clear. Of course, Washington State decided to give spring and summer a miss this year and head straight into fall, so there is no warmth or sunshine to go outside and play in.

Or, there wasn’t until a few days ago. I digress…

Taking a break had the reverse effect I was hoping for. Instead of resting my brain and getting centered again, those pesky writer demons started a war, and they were merciless. To the point where I started questioning why I was writing, what was the point, then assessing that words and I are pretty much enemies.

Then… imposter syndrome rode into this battle and took a jab (several in fact). Sprinkle in some super obscure family stuff, physical weirdocrities happening, and you have my life. We’re talking an Everest Avalanche and I’m somewhere under the pile of snow freezing my ass off.  Read more >

Leave a Reply

